Individuals and Organisations Honoured at Solidarity Awards

Individuals and Organisations Honoured at Solidarity Awards

Palms Australia’s Solidarity Awards, held on Tuesday 16th October, honoured a number of individuals and organisations who have demonstrated solidarity with the world’s poor and commitment to cooperating to end global poverty.

The awards were presented by Timorese ambassador to Australia, Mr Abel Guterres, during an evening which featured a keynote address by Palms Australia Patron and Nobel Laureate, Dr José Ramos Horta.

The winners of the 2012 awards are as follows.

The Damian Keane award recognising consistent voluntary commitment in the Palms Australia offices was awarded to Barbara Clark, who has assisted with the processing of global volunteer applications for 10 years.

Catholic Mission won the Cyril Hally Award in recognition of their contribution to the recruitment and preparation of Australians for just cross-cultural engagement.

The Development through Relationship award was jointly won by the Catholic Education Office of Parramatta and the Catholic Schools Office of Broken Bay, in honour of their long-term relationships in Timor-Leste, resulting in improved education programs.

The Roy Boylan award for long-term commitment to justice was awarded to Mary Gilchrist, founding member, former director, Palms volunteer in Ghana, life member and founding member of Palms Australia.

The Donor Contribution award was awarded to a donor who wished to remain anonymous but has played an important role in sustaining the activities of Palms Australia with their very generous individual gifts.

The Community Engagement Award was awarded to Peter De Haas (in absentia) for his efforts linking and engaging large numbers of people and organisations in projects which seek justice, including Palms Australia, FPET, Podmore Foundation and Connect East Timor.

More details about the evening are available in this article.